Gold Standard and Sound Money

HYIP Using Liberty Reserve Confronted by SEC

It’s not the first time and it won’t be the last.  Just a reminder, the SEC has in the past frozen Costa Rica bank account and seized them because of ‘investor’ complaints because of their connection to HYIPs.

This was published today from by Jon Chesto from The Patriot Ledger

BOSTON —

The Securities and Exchange Commission has accused a Web site operator of creating a bogus investment site with fictitious links to a real investment firm in Boston.

The Web site of “Marvel Partners” – marvelpartners.net – claims the company is affiliated with J.P. Marvel Investment Advisors. The site lists Marvel Partners’ address at J.P. Marvel’s building, 265 Franklin St., and also says Marvel Partners shares the same phone number as J.P. Marvel’s. But J.P. Marvel CEO Joe Patton said he has never heard of Marvel Partners and that his company has nothing to do with the Web site.

The Marvel Partners Web site, which says its address is one floor above J.P. Marvel’s actual location, claims it can offer as much as a 138 percent return in three days on an investment in the foreign exchange market. The site, which purports to have 503 members and $25,750 in investments, accepts credit card payments through Liberty Reserve, a Costa Rican company.

“We have no idea how they did it or what they did,” Patton said.

To read the full article click here.

There Are 2 Responses So Far. »

  1. You are trying to scare your readers for nothing.

    Your reminder is wrong. There is no link between liberty reserve bank account and that ponzi. The SEC cannot and will not touch the bank account of liberty reserve.

    So, what’s next? A reminder that there are volcanos that can erupt and destroy a bank?

  2. It is quite disturbing when you say,

    “There is no link between liberty reserve bank account and that ponzi”

    How many Ponzi’s are we talking about here?